Home > Meet the Experts, Uncategorized > Expert Features: @comcastcares and their twitter story

Expert Features: @comcastcares and their twitter story

Frank Eliason - @Comcastcares

Frank Eliason - @Comcastcares

We want to understand what makes twitter work for businesses. This has led us to start our “Interview with experts” series. In today’s post we present interview with Frank Eliason, Director Digital Care from Comcast. There is no doubt @comcastcares is one of the most successful business profile on the twitter land. We think, they have leveraged the “reach and response” attribute of twitter most effectively. In words of Frank, “one of the keys to improving is listening and gathering your feedback” and we say, “Absolutely”! Read the completely interview below.

OM: Why did you choose Twitter?
Frank: We actually participate throughout social media, including forums, blogs, Facebook and many other spaces. Twitter is so successful because of the search and the timeliness of the information. Within moments of a Tweet I can see it and respond.

OM: What were some of your challenges?
Frank: It actually has not really been a challenge. The hardest part I have is staying away to allow my team members to build their reputation in the space. As a twitter addict this is difficult for me, but I have so much fun watching there success.

OM: What were the results? An example you want to share?
Frank:I actually do not measure success or failure. To me it is building 1 relationship at a time and helping to cultivate that relationship. This is about a community and being members within that community. I share a lot of stories but my favorite was something I never expected in the space. Back last July 26 we were celebrating the birthday of my 2 year old. It was also the anniversary of the death of another child, Gia. Well I did not realize that people really knew all about it but they knew I would be busy that day. When I finally popped on Twitter late in the day I saw tweets that said “Lets let @ComcastCares have his day” @ComcastCares is busy, can I help?” This is from people that do not even work for Comcast. That is the power of Twitter. It is also the reason that I post my family website on my ComcastCares background

OM: Any tips you would want to give to your peers?
Frank: This is a personal space and it is important to recognize that. Have a conversation with your Customers and they will appreciate that.

______________________________________________________________________

About Frank:
Frank Eliason, Director Digital Care, in Customer Service. He has an interesting blog about his views and observation about Social Media, and other related topics -http://www.eliasonfamily.info/blog/

If you think Frank @comcastcares have been a great help, leave a comment for him and let him know!

[This was originally posted on April 5th 2009]

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

